Living As A Cancer Survivor: Saying Goodbye to My Best Friend

Mark Everett Kelly
5 min readOct 15, 2020

It’s been over a month since my last entry, so it’s about time I started to post more consistently.

I’m certainly not alone in my desire to see 2020 end ASAP. Only 1991, when I spent 10 of 12 months in the hospital receiving or recovering from cancer treatment, was harder to experience.

The culmination of sadness occurred on October 9th. While I prepared for work, I checked on my dog of 15 years and best friend in the world. He struggled through Thursday, and I knew time was short, but it still didn’t prepare me for what came next.

For more of my blog entries please visit https://www.ckmagicsports.com/living-as-a-cancer-survivor#

I held Sammy most of the previous night, wanting him to feel safe and loved. He slept next to me, but I woke up early to shower and barely noticed I…

--

--